Last night’s Dare to Dream event was a wonderful success, with roughly 550 people joining United Way for an evening that relaunches the organization in the battle against Mid-South poverty. The Holiday Inn at the University of Memphis ballroom was transformed into a more relaxed yet upscale atmosphere with illuminated towers conveying the impact of people’s support for United Way.

One of the highlights of the evening was the presentation of the first-ever United Way Impact Award to the Belz family by R. Scott Barber (Chairman of the event and Regional President of Caesar’s Entertainment) and Dr. Kenneth S. Robinson, President and CEO of United Way. Dr. Robinson said the Belz family has provided strong support of United Way for generations, and cited their involvement as leadership and Tocqueville donors, working as hands-on volunteers, serving on United Way Boards of Directors, and engaging their family business and its employees with United Way to make the Mid-South an even better place to live and work. Ron Belz received the award on behalf of the family.

Dr. Robinson called the attendees together to dare to dream of a Mid-South region where individuals and sectors are working together with United Way, making an incredible impact on the lives of people living in generational poverty.

We’ll have more photos and information on Dare to Dream┬ávia our social media platforms on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram in the days to come. We thank everyone who helped make Dare to Dream a success. Please see the listing of Executive Committee members, Host Committee members, and sponsors at the end of this post.

PHOTOPOD FUN! Dare to Dream guests enjoyed the fun and silliness of the Photopod, and we have some pictures from the event site!


Dare to Dream Executive Committee:
R. Scott Barber – Chairman
Calvin Anderson
The Belz Family
Dave Ferraro
Kathy and J.W. Gibson
Ursula Madden
Diane Terrell

Dare to Dream Honorary Host Committee:
Ashley Cash
Darrell & Mikki Cobbins
Erika & Damon Conley
Cynthia Daniels
Kayla Rodriguez & Kevin Graff
Kontji Anthony & Patrick Hendricks
Michael Hooks, Jr.
Lee Rankin Hopson
Danielle Inez
Megan & Corey Klein
Afshan Latif
Tarrin McGhee
Cardell & Nefertiti Orrin
Terence Patterson
Claire Rossie
Tami Sawyer
Athena Turner
Joy Turner
Tekedra Terry & Andre Gibson
Monica & Andre Wharton
Jamal & Carlisha Whitlow
Russ Wigginton

Dare to Dream Sponsors:
Phillip Ashley Chocolatier
Crews Family Foundation
John & Leslie Daniel
Memphis In May International Festival
Picture Pod